Cricket Status

Cricket matches, cricket reports and cricket news

Rebel cricket tours of South Africa by Australia, England, West Indies & Sri Lanka from 1982 to 1990 due to apartheid.

3 min read
Rebel cricket

South Africa was banned by the international cricket bodies due to apartheid policy, which was not accepted by the international cricket authorities & thus these were known as rebel tours in cricket.

England was the 1st country in 1982 to embark on the rebel tour to stun the cricketing world.

Squad: Graham Gooch (captain), Dennis AmissGeoffrey BoycottJohn EmbureyMike HendrickGeoff HumpageAlan KnottWayne LarkinsJohn LeverChris OldArnold SidebottomLes TaylorDerek UnderwoodPeter WilleyBob Woolmer.[18][19]Graham Dilley had pulled out of the tour before it got underway.[20]

South Africa won both the test series and the odi series, which boasted of some great names, Mike Procter, express pacer Van der Bijl & Jimmy Cook. England cricketers were banned for 3 years & that was the end of some of England cricketers careers. Gooch and Emburey went onto play a lot of matches after the ban was over.

Sri Lanka were the next team on the rebel tour led by Bandula Warnapura. For Sri Lanka, it was something good, as they were just finding their feet in international cricket at that time.

Squad: Bandula Warnapura (captain), Flavian AponsoHemantha DevapriyaLantra FernandoMahes Goonatilleke, Nirmal Hettiaratchi, Lalith Kaluperuma, Susantha Karunaratne, Bernard PereraAnura RanasingheAjit de Silva, Bandula de Silva, Jeryl Woutersz, Tony Opatha (player/manager).[25][unreliable source?]

West Indies was the next to undertake the rebel tour. West Indies were the most powerful team in the eighties. West Indies, even after losing Lawrence Rowe, Collis King & pacer Sylvester Clarke had enough reserves to fire. West Indies strength was their sheer pace. Colin Croft, Bernard Julien & Ezra Moseley were so quick, that for the first time ever, the Springboks had to don helmets.

England was the final country to leave for a rebel tour in 1990 led by Mike Gatting

Squad: Mike Gatting (captain), Bill AtheyKim BarnettChris BroadChris CowdreyGraham DilleyRichard EllisonJohn EmbureyNeil FosterBruce FrenchPaul JarvisMatthew MaynardTim RobinsonGreg ThomasAlan WellsDavid Graveney (player/manager).[45]

Finally, from 1991, South Africa were readmitted into international cricket & the word rebel in cricket was gone.

Leave a Reply

You may have missed